View: 171|Reply: 5

Raspberry Pi CPU Overheating in RaspTank

[Copy link]

2

Threads

4

Posts

34

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
34
Post time 2021-4-15 05:28:17 | Show all posts |Read mode
Are you also having CPU Temps above 100C ?
Reply

Use magic Report

2

Threads

4

Posts

34

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
34
 Author| Post time 2021-4-15 22:16:26 | Show all posts
Also on cpu getting hot video performance get worse and system stops to respond or gets choppy.
Reply

Use magic Report

1

Threads

11

Posts

37

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
37
Post time 2021-5-6 08:48:21 From the mobile phone | Show all posts
Yeah, same problem with Pi 4. Over 70 degrees in a minute. It’s hard to cool the pi in such a narrow space. I have attached 2 30x30mm fans on the back of the Rasptank, sucking out as much heat as possible. Managed to keep it around 55 degr. But it is not an ideal solution. Not sure if older Pi’s, 2,3,3b etc. have the same problem.
Reply

Use magic Report

1

Threads

11

Posts

37

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
37
Post time 2021-5-6 08:51:27 From the mobile phone | Show all posts
I now have seperate powersupply for the fans @ 6V, attached on the top of the robot. Will try to ‘steal’ 5 or 5,5 V from the pwm servo ports later, and build some sort of rack to mount the fans properly
Reply

Use magic Report

1

Threads

11

Posts

37

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
37
Post time 2021-5-6 09:30:34 From the mobile phone | Show all posts
Also: check temperature on all servo’s. Sometimes one or two are not lined out perfectly and they are under stress while in ‘neutral’ state. In this state they produce a LOT of heat.
Reply

Use magic Report

0

Threads

2

Posts

14

Credits

Newbie

Rank: 1

Credits
14
Post time 2021-6-21 14:13:05 | Show all posts
Yes Pi 4 will get way to hot if installed in the body of the bot. I have taken mine out and fitted with the HAT on the back of the bot. Doesn't look as good, however gives access to the SD card and all connectors for debugging and modifications.

Overall a STEM bot should never have the control board inside. These things are build for learning and modifications.
Reply

Use magic Report

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Sign Up

Points Rules