View: 691|Reply: 2

Controlling RaspTank with PS4 Controller

[Copy link]

Threads

Credits

Credits
Post time 2021-12-19 09:42:34 | Show all posts |Read mode
Has anyone tried modifying the code to control this robot (or any other adeept robots) using a PS4 controller?  I would like to be able to move it around using the controller and then have the video displayed on an Android phone attached to the controller.

I just started taking some python classes through Udemy about 2 months ago, so I'm still a novice.  I have a general idea what I need to do, but have only gotten so far as getting the controller to register button presses using pyPS4Controller.  Any direction past this point would be appreciated.  I'll keep this thread posted if/when I make progress.

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Credits
 Author| Post time 2021-12-20 13:32:10 | Show all posts
This looks promising...

https://github.com/m4n0b0dy/Curiosity

Use magic Report

Threads

Credits

Credits
Post time 2022-3-1 00:06:36 | Show all posts
Edited by 1646062069 at 2022-3-16 05:06 AM

Modify 3-15-2022.

I got mine to work with the EasySMX PS 3 Game Controller from Amazon (found here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01KV7B2CG).  I used AntiMicroX to map the keyboard keys to the various controls and buttons.   I used the left joystick (or Stick 1 in AntiMicroX) for its steering (A and D).  I used the game pad (or DPad) for half of the Arm functions (I, J, K and L).  I used the right joystick (or Stick 2) for the rest of the arm functions (U, O, P and ;).  And finally, I set forward and reverse thrust to the triggers (S or reverse on the left trigger and W or forward on the right trigger).